What's new
What's new

SPZ Meaning? Mill spindle problem

jvobike

Plastic
Hello,

I have a Shizuoka Millmaster B-3V CNC mill and recently I had a power surge in my building. Since this happened, I have had an alarm LED light up in my spindle amplifier control board region of my machine. I have been having very hard luck trying to find help or an owner's manual for this machine as it is over 30 years old. I have contacted Shizuoka Tekko Japan with no solution.

The LED is labeled LD20 and SPZ. I ask what the SPZ denotation might mean. I am assuming it stands for Spindle "Z" but what should this mean to me as for how to fix it? In it's current state, if I turn on the spindle, the spindle will not go and I will have fuse blown in my machine.

Any help would be appreciated, I have plenty of pictures on this problem if they may help.
Thanks

Attachments

• alarm_LD20_closeup.jpg
    alarm_LD20_closeup.jpg
    102.6 KB · Views: 191
  • shizuoka_millmaster_b_3v.jpg
    shizuoka_millmaster_b_3v.jpg
    31 KB · Views: 271
IIRC that machine uses a Fuji Electric DC spindle drive. I no longer have information on those and it has been many many years since I last worked on one.

Since you had a voltage spike and are now blowing fuses, that sounds like a shorted thyristor or SCR.

Post up the manufacturer and model of spindle drive. Then we may be able to figure more out.

Roooster,
That looks identical to my board, yes. I am not sure myself if replacing the board will fix the problem however. Firstly, I am still not sure what the light means. Can you input if replacing the board should alleviate anything? I have attached picture of my board

Vancbiker,
I have found only 1 item that says Fuji on it in my spindle drive cabinet, see attached. I have found a Sanyo Denki SP-4146B name plate that I believe is the make and mode of the spindle drive. I have attached pictures of the Fuji and Sanyo Denki items. Can you elaborate on what a shorted thyristor or SCR may be?

Thank you