What's new
What's new

Stuck machining about cutting taper shape.

chuck1203

Plastic
Hello, this is my first time to post in here. I am Japanese CNC machinist in Canada and using Fusion 360.

I really need you guys help about machining taper milling.

Top dia is 1.66" and bottom dia is 1.7" As you can see my attachments, bottom surface is flat.

In this case, which cutter should I use..? Dove tail cutter can be possible but worry about good surface finishing.

If you guys have good idea, it will be very helpful and I will become next level machinist :)

Attachments

• taper cut.jpg
    taper cut.jpg
    6.8 KB · Views: 138
  • taper cut 2.jpg
    taper cut 2.jpg
    68.4 KB · Views: 176
Hello, this is my first time to post in here. I am Japanese CNC machinist in Canada and using Fusion 360.

I really need you guys help about machining taper milling.

Top dia is 1.66" and bottom dia is 1.7" As you can see my attachments, bottom surface is flat.

In this case, which cutter should I use..? Dove tail cutter can be possible but worry about good surface finishing.

If you guys have good idea, it will be very helpful and I will become next level machinist :)

@chuck1203
is there an online machining forum in Japan ? And if so, what is it like ?

Also your application, any idea or need of "form" tolerances and surface finishes ? Circularity or "Tapericity" - What material and condition of material (and if relevant hardness ? ) .

Maybe easier and faster but not better, nope :fight:

Them's fighting words. Better surface finish (no faceting), no quadrant steps, etc.

Not to mention, you don't just need a backdraft with that part, but some amount of true cylinder below, otherwise you'll spend ages doing a very shallow helix down to try to get a decent surface finish on the straight bore.

Like I said, lathe...

Them's fighting words. Better surface finish (no faceting), no quadrant steps, etc.