Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

+1 on the Big Kaiser FCR and FCM tools. Used those in aluminum and steels. CosmosK, I can see how you would want something like that for those 'shelfs' on your parts.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by gkoenig View Post
    I have some pretty great experiences with the Big Kaiser FCM (Square) and FCR (Corner Radius) inserted cutters. They are Big+ short length integral holders - so a one piece affair. They are extraordinarily stable in all cutting conditions. I have one cut .2" deep doing a profile around an odd shaped part, maxing out at about .5" WOC. She eats this cut at 400IPM in series production with no issues. Surface finish is good enough that bead blasting brings it right into Class A status.

It has quickly become my favorite indexed cutter. It has a wide variety of insert grades available, but the aluminum grade comes in that nice rainbow colored uicorn blood coating, so they last forever. Best part? Misumi sells them for $250 which is a smokin' deal, especially given that you don't need to also buy a $150 holder.

Full Cut Mill (FCR Type Standard) | DAISHOWASEIKI | MISUMI USA
    I never would have thought to look on Misumi for cutting tools, very cool! Inserts are 350/10 pack however.

I know it's a better setup, but I'm always considering the crash scenario. Part of me thinks a M12 or M8 connection might snap before it trashes the spindle, but that might be wishful thinking. I just chipped all three corner off my $100 reduced shank 3/8" end mill the other day with a minor programming error. Apparently it didn't want to cut a full slot 1/4" deep sticking out 2.5"

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)