What's new
What's new

Swiss Screw Machine GuideBush scratching material??

CrashBandicoot

Plastic
Hey all, I'm a fairly green machinist working with a Swiss Style Tornos Nano Lathe. Last week, the bar stock (.0625 Sandvik 20ap Steel)got bound up behind the stationary Guide bushing and caused the machine to alarm out and stop (also breaking my parting insert). I cleaned out all the bent material, and verified that my guide bushing and collet were not damaged. Now, my guide bushing is scraping off material when being fed through. The guide bushing isn't too loose or tight (verified by those who know better) and it scrapes only when the spindle is in rotation. Also, my tools are getting chipped out in basically the first usage trying to cut metal. The runout in the stock is .0007 before the guide bushing and .0003 after so I doesn't seem like the material is bad or the collet is a problem. We've tried replacing the guide bushing, collet, different stock diameters (and materials) and it all gets scraped by the guide bushing. We've tried every reasonable variable at this point and it's becoming quite a head-scratcher. Any suggestions are welcome, Thanks!

Andrew

I would try lapping the guide bushing
use your material and some lapping compound this will make the guide bushing exact to the material and should remove anything that could be scratching the material

Very common. Chips/swarf get stuck in the guide bushings and wreck the bar stock. Can also cause Z axis feed problems and runout. I ran Tornos for years as well as Citizens. Remove the guide bushing and put a rubberized abrasive in a air die grinder and clean out the embedded dirt. The guide bushing is lined with carbide so this really won't hurt the bushing.