Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Tapping m6x1.0

Country
    SOUTH AFRICA
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by cv321 View Post
    So i am really new at the machining game. anyway i have a customer that has a part that they want made out of either 17-4 SS or A2. anyway there is a 2" depth hole in the part that they are wanting tapped all the way with a m6x1.0 tap. i am having trouble finding a tool either a tap or a thread mill that is long enough. any recommendations would be helpfull.
    Who designed that shit?? M6 50mm deep???? I am sorry but I agree with Milland on this one. The customer needs to either actually see what a part looks like that deep or needs a wake up call.
    I am going to be honest, even on your 30mm that is crazy! FFS 1.5 x D is pretty much more than goo enough for engagement. Are there parts on either end that get fastened up? I'd be asking loads of questions to the customer before I even attempted it. And if they REALLY needed it that deep I would give them a ridiculous price on Quote... And then probably still run into a wall after realising that I should have never taken it on.

2. Likes eaglemike liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I've said it before: There has to be more interaction between designers and builders. This is just the latest example.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)