What's new
What's new

Tapping m6x1.0

cv321

Plastic
So i am really new at the machining game. anyway i have a customer that has a part that they want made out of either 17-4 SS or A2. anyway there is a 2" depth hole in the part that they are wanting tapped all the way with a m6x1.0 tap. i am having trouble finding a tool either a tap or a thread mill that is long enough. any recommendations would be helpfull.

If stuff attaches to both sides, see if you need a single continuous thread all the way through or if you can tap from both sides.

They are wanting a continuous thread all the way. but i have talked them out of it and into giving me some releif to begin with and only tapping 30mm deep.

I have used roll taps in 304 stainless and have had good luck but i have never machined 17-4 before? is it similar in tapping? im going to do some testing tomorrow with heat treating one and one not to see what i like better.

Just had a similar battle with a customer who wanted over 800 #10-24 holes tapped all the way through 2.5" deep in delrin. There was a screw only on one side with 0.5" thread engagement. They just wanted more thread in case it stripped they could use a longer screw to fix it lol. Managed to talk them out of it, but they didnt seem to believe how much of a nightmare this would be, and were not totally happy about me not tapping all the way through. They thought it was a great idea lol.

R&N makes some very long taps that will probably reach. I bought one to try it, but didnt work well.

Pretty much unrelated to the question (just as many posts above) but this is a classic case of a moron customer, or rather one with zero machining skills. I just finished doing a similar job today - 150 pieces of a distance for a screw, 71mm long, with a 10 mm hole through it that they wanted rectangular with a 4mm radius for no damn reason. I swear I hate these CAD jockeys who never saw a mill in their life.