What's new
What's new

TIR with different style tool holders

thunderskunk

Cast Iron
Hey guys,

I’ve been in a shop that used ER collets exclusively. I work in a shop that now uses the PowRgrip with press-fit collets and standard ER stuff. I’ve seen heat shrink, hydraulic, set-screw, all sorts of stuff. I just discovered Nikken Ultra-lock milling chucks.

I bring this list of tool holding up because I’m not sure who to trust. I hate indicating tools. It’s the bane of my existence. I started picking away at what system guarantees what and saw that few of these systems promise less than .0002 TIR. Is there any system where you essentially eliminate indicating tools?

I'm speaking more for reamers and finish endmills. I know roughing and general tools aren't always made to less than 2 tenths from a previous thread.

I’m specifically looking for a system to adopt for the mill at home. Nikken’s chucks came highly recommended, but for $400 a tool holder, I never want to lean over the table with an indicator again.

For the money, I like the new Techniks Low profile hydraulic chuck.
.0001 TIR at 3X tool diameter from the face.
$229.00 for a CAT40 1/2"

The one exkenna posted looks pretty good. I stay away from milling Chuck's, I've not had much success with them over the years.
The gage length on milling chucks is tool long to gain rigidity. IMHO I love the Maritool SK collet holders, great run-out for the money.
The Pioneer MX Mini chucks have Very little run-out as well

gets your self a optical presetter. you will see magnified tool runout on every tool.