What's new
What's new

Tormach 1100m or Acctek 6060C

r00tdown

Plastic
Hey guys, I'm a Cad designer for water sports and I wanna get into CNCing.

I've been looking at the Tormach 1100m and Acctek 6060C my knowledge of these machines are abysmal would anyone be willing to give the two a look and give me there opinion?

The tormach is about double the price at around 20k for a good setup ( or so I've read). Id rather spend 20k on something I've very happy with than 10k on the Acctek and have something disappointing...

What do you guys recommend between the two or another machine?

Thanks!

Having recently gone through this decision process myself, do the research and go with a used machine. A Tormach could be fine if you could find a used one cheap and it meets your requirements, but for $20k you can find a nice used VMC that will be much more capable and hold its value.

A good percentage of CNC grief comes from no product support. As the Tormach is by far the largest Prosumer CNC mill and I have never even heard of the other company I would probably lean towards them.

And yes if you want to roll the dice with your $20k you can buy a nice used machine...or a total piece of junk that will never run because you aren't a used machinery inspector and repairman. Remember that hobby and prosumer machines will show up used because the wife got pissed, they lost interest or they overestimated their budget. They can be and usually are lightly used by professional standards.

Shops don't sell good machines that are making money. They sell machines that don't cut it anymore. If like most of the people on this board you know what is and isn't important you can get a killer machine for that $20k. If you don't you will be screwed and spending months of time and thousands of dollars on a greasy lump that will have many thousands of hours of hard use on it.