What's new

Total novice buys sweet CNC

• Thread starter atetsade
  • Start date
  • Replies 10
  • Views 1,997
A

atetsade

don't be too jealous, since all it will be doing is running off sophisticated hardware in lots of thousands.

we're going to choose an Okuma Howa ACT-35 or a Mori CL25B or a Haas SL-30 or a Cincinnati of comparable size, have it shipped here in a few days. we're using phase perfect to convert its three phase, so basically when this thing gets here we pick a spot and plug it in.

Well, I congratulate myself on learning so much about CNC machines and the problems that go along with them in the past two weeks. I think we'll make a pretty informed decision and buy a pretty nice CNC machine.

Is hands-on or classroom training strictly necessary? I mean, if you knew nothing about controllers but didn't feel too intimidated about using one, would you be able to read a couple good books on the subject and use a Fanuc 18t (for example) and set up and run a CNC machine in a reasonable amount of time?

I like to read and apply what I read, I was a Lego-maniac and all that. can anyone suggest a good read that will explain G-code, M-code, CNC setup and operation?

WOW! That takes balls. I don't think I would have had the courage to jump into a project that requires running parts in lots of "thousands" on a yet undecided machine and not even be familiar with G-codes, M-codes, ect.

How do you even quote on a job without at least some basic background?

You don't seem to be intimidated by the technology and are eager to learn, so I think you can learn quite a bit from reading books and applying what you read at the machine control. I wish you all the luck in your new venture. For some good reference books, check out Mike Lynch's site at http://www.cncci.com/

[This message has been edited by E-Stop (edited 04-04-2003).]

Vistit www.cncci.com. Mike Lynch runs this website and company and has quite a selection of educational material for sale.