What's new
What's new

Trouble shooting a Fanuc control

kilroyjones

Hot Rolled
The company I work for has a CNC turret punch with a Fanuc control. I believe it is a 160 but I can't remember.

The machine will run fine and then we get a 970 NMI error saying the OPT3 board failed. There is no pattern to the error, it can appear at any time with any program.

We had a Fanuc tech come out, and he checked our electrical supply which was in spec. He then replaced the OPT3 board, then tried replacing other boards. We finally ended up with all new boards in the control and still get the error.

Has anyone had any expeirence tracing down an error on a Fanuc system? The "plug n pray" method of chaning boards is not cutting it. The LED indicators on the control board give a general alarm nothing specific.

Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

I was a Fanuc service engineer many years ago.

The NMI error is a "Non Maskable Interrupt". This alarm will means that the CPU has been halted. The CPU is designed to "fail safe" and not let the servos run away and crash, so the NMI alarm shuts down the servos also. It's a pretty unusual event, and from my experience it rarely happens in the field.

Since you've replaced the boards, I think it's very unlikely that you have a HARDWARE problem on the boards. The likelyhood that you've have TWO boards with the same problem is astronomical.

With the boards ruled out, that leaves a SOFTWARE bug or an external event, such as ground faults or EMI (Electro Magnetic Interferrence), or possible a power supply problem.

The power supplies on these newer controls are "switching" type supplies, and they are pretty much immune to the stuff that used to affect the old style power supplies. They always have voltage sensing and overcurrent protection, so a bad power supply would likely just shut down rather than let the CNC run with poorly regulated DC power. It's still possible that you have a power supply problem, but personally I doubt it.