What's new
What's new

Troubleshooting Baldor Spindle Drive for Fadal

nmaley12

Plastic
Pleading for help from the empire of dirt here,
I've got a 1997 Fadal VMC 6030 with a Baldor V2 spindle drive and It's been nothing but trouble.
I've been intermittently having spindle fault line error code thrown at the strangest times.
Usually the machine only errors out in the middle of a large program(I love it when that happens)and very occasionally if the spindle is low RPM and not cutting anything. After resetting the machine the problem goes away for a while but inevitably returns. The drive has very low hours and has never been abused (it was replaced when I purchased the machine). Any ideas on where to start with fixing this issue? The machine works great for small parts when the machine has time to cool down, but the drive never seems to get too hot and the fans all work in the back cabinet.
Any tips appreciated, I'm new to machining and I need to make my investment back desperately. Thank you!!

Spindle Fault Line.. When the spindle drive is happy, its sends 12v to the machine control.. Its essentially
the spindle drive saying "Yeah Man, we cool back here"...

When the spindle drive is not happy, it doesn't send the 12V... And the machine says "Ruh-Roh, somethings wrong"
and you get the "spindle fault line"...

So.. You have a spindle drive problem..

Does it get pissy on accelerations or decelerations? If you just let her run at 3000 rpms constantly, is she
fine??? Does she only get mad when she's pulling some HP??

So, you are new at this game (and it is a game)... New Machine, no experience... What is your incoming power,
what is your transformer tapped at... And most importantly, what is your voltage leg to leg???? going into the drive.

They get REALLY REALLY pissed off when you feed them more than 240v, and will eventually die... And guess how I know
this??? I didn't check.. 240 coming in, tapped for 240.. 252 to the drive(S).. That cost me 2 spindle drives..