What's new
What's new

Turning 18" D2 Steel plz help speed/feed/doc

FleetFarmer

Plastic
Hello, 1st post from a self taught CNC Lathe operator...

I run a Haas SL30 Lathe, I need to turn a bunch of patterns from 18" D2 steel(4" thick) and it is taking me so long it is TORTURE...
Since I am self taught I never really learned how fast to turn parts or how hard I can run my machine.

I have my RPM(CSS) set at 415 and a max spindle RPM of 600. This is where im unsure because my chuck is only 12" so I need to use a jig plate to hold large parts and I am afraid if I turn at high RPMs that the part may come loose.

I currently have my depth of cut at .05 and my feed set at .01 IPR. I use CNMG 432 inserts. I usually have to change my insert every hour or so, is that too long?

I work in a job shop that does all prototype work, no production.

Please give me some tips

Last edited:
I used to run an SL30. If your setup is rigid enough (and only you are going to know that), I would goto an LNMX style insert. https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/63920201

These are in the toolholder tangentially, allowing higher feed and doc. Can't recommend a coating as I have been away from that for a long time now. Hopefully someone can help you out.

I think your cutting parameters are in the ballpark. The depth of cut is light, but it depends if your machine can take a bigger cut at that diameter. I know those Haas's aren't known for their rigidity and horsepower. I would slowly up the depth of cut while watching the load meter and listening to the machine to see if it sounds right.

If 600 rpm is the max that you feel comfortable spinning your chuck, then I would trust that instinct. You don't want to push it and find where that limit is.

I'd go go go until the motor can't push anymore. Then back it off a cunt hair. If you blow the machine up, use it as logic to get an Okuma. By the sounds of your set up, Haas is probably not the right equipment.