What's new
What's new

Turning tool for ID and OD

BRIAN.T

Cast Iron
I'm pretty new to lathe work, so forgive me if this is blindingly obviously to all of you. But Ive been programming a lot of 2 spindle mill turn parts, and a great deal of them have very little work on the sub spindle. Sometimes all I need is to face ID and OD chamfer, then into the parts catcher.

Also I've only got 12 stations so it's nice to keep multi purpose type tools in my machine.

So is there a tool that can rough and finish an OD, plus do some light ID work. I know some insert drills can do those type of operations, but I can't imagine they are particularly well suited for them.

Dorian Tool makes double insert boring bars that do exactly what you are asking. Some shops make their own for high volume jobs to eliminate turret indexes. Those often have a boring insert on one side and a grooving or threading insert on the other.

One high volume builder of hydraulic cylinders used 3 inserts on one bar. One side of the bar had a CNM style insert for facing and boring to thread minor diameter. The opposite side of the bar had a threading insert at the end of the bar and a grooving insert an inch or so from the end and on a larger radius than the threader. With that set up they faced, ID chamfered and bored, relief grooved, threaded, and OD chamfered a cylinder tube with no turret indexing. It was pretty slick. 3 or 4 of that style tool in the turret with different groove inserts and thread inserts covered a wide range of cylinder sizes.

Last edited:
Dorian Tool makes double insert boring bars that do exactly what you are asking. Some shops make their own for high volume jobs to eliminate turret indexes. Those often have a boring insert on one side and a grooving or threading insert on the other.

Very interesting, that looks like it might be exactly what I need. Thanks

You can check these out also;ISCAR Hole Making Product Line