What's new
What's new

USB for Fanuc CNC Machines

dadams

Plastic
Hello Everyone,

Im new to the page but I have found some useful information here so I figured I would register and ask this one.

I have Fanuc CNC machines with 20i software on them. We are currently using the memory cards to transfer files to the CNC because the machines don't have a lot of memory. We use drip feed for our larger programs. We are looking to replace the memory cards with USB drives as the cards and memory card readers are expensive to replace.

I have tried the Calmotion USB reader and this will not work for us at it will not read GOTO codes and will not read subprograms off of the USB like it does for the memory card. To expand, we load a main program with a bunch of logic checks in the program. Then we also have the sub programs for the parts loaded on the memory card as well and the CNC will go from the main program, search the memory card and find the sub programs needed and drip feed them from the memory card in the machine. It will then finish that program, jump back to the main program, do a Logic check, and find the next subprogram and run it off of the memory card, and so on.

Im looking for a device that is compatible with the Fanuc machines that will do the same thing but from a USB drive. Is this a thing yet? Im sure it is but my research led me to Calmotion but this device wont work for the above programs which is a large number of programs.

Thanks,
Dillin Adams