What's new
What's new

Used HAAS vs New TORMACH

Max Weber

Aluminum
I'm looking to transition from hiring out my production to making it in house, as the shops in my area are expensive and have long lead times. I also have some new products on the horizon that will have multiple versions and parts that are "engraved to order", which makes it almost impossible to hire out efficiently.

My budget is going to be around $15k give or take which puts me pretty low on the chain of available machines. I think I could get away with a Tormach, but I would really like to get a used HAAS since I already have 3 phase power and I think it could grow with the business (maybe even bid on some simple jobs on the side)

How realistic is my approach? I have zero experience running a CNC. I would be willing to pay someone locally a consulting fee who knows what they are doing to help me select a used machine, set up, and program a couple parts for production so that I can take my time to learn everything while the machine produces what I immediately need.

What would you advise to do and what things should I take into consideration?

Thanks,
Max

Edit: My time frame is to have the machine up and producing parts within 3-6 months.

Parts produced in runs of 50-100 (main product is made from 6061 aluminum, upcoming product will be 17-4 PH Stainless)

Haas, but be patient and read up on the controls. Early ones are robust and simple to run, but are losing support from Haas. Newer ones are more expensive, may be less reliable overall, but are still supported.

Lots to read on PM, do some searching.

with the limited information you have provided, its basically the same as asking "used Chevy pickup, or new Kia?"

If you described the type and size of the parts you are, and maybe will, be making, and the machines you are looking at, it might be possible to give more of a recommendation.