What's new
What's new

Which vacuum pump for my table

allenp

Aluminum
Hi, I've bought vacuum table like this, only slightly bigger, around 400x300mm, but I don't have vacuum pump so I wonder which one would be good for aluminum plates 15-20mm in thickness and if there is some tutorial on how to connect this table to that pump, I mean, which things need to be looked after when you mount it to the table etc.

I've never used vac table before, only standard clamps and vices so this is all new to me.

You want the highest vacuum at a flow rate equal to or greater than your seals leak. How you plumb one depends on the pump and how well you have to protect it from ingesting coolant and chips. How are you sealing the parts to the table?

I use a venturi vacuum pump that pulls 28" using .5 cfm with a 10" x 15" table with no issues. Nice thing about these pumps is that they can pass coolant and minor chips without a problem, not so with other pumps.

The significant factors are 1) minimize the leakage, 2) use a pump with enough capacity to pump the system down quickly and overcome leakage but still hold the work piece and, 3) prevent contaminants (coolant and swarf) from getting into your pump.

Here's an inexpensive pump that you could try for low $$. New Vacuum Pump 1 Stage 3 0 CFM 1 4HP Rotary Vane Deep HVAC Tool AC R410A R134 | eBay

Regarding leakage, a lot depends on the specific configuration of your work piece and what you're trying to accomplish. Use neoprene sheets to cover any holes that your work piece doesn't. Your work piece must mate precisely with the vacuum table to minimize leakage. Can you use a very thin elastomer gasket (with holes) to seal the work piece?