What's new
What's new

Vibration from boring bars

Meskaroni

Plastic
Hey everyone, One of my first posts but long time lurker

in 10+years machining, Ive never felt so defeated.

I am running a small cnc lathe, trying to bore 1-3" diameters.
I have a few 100 programs that ive been running for 5+ years on this machine with these boring bars, perfect finish and sizes.
we hired a new machinist who thought he could save time on my programs so he set the start point to a finished diameter on a 3.5" stock and a 1.5" diameter. so upon finishing the cycle *smash into the piece.

okay, so we aligned the machined with some professionals and all the tool heights are dead on,turret realigned... but unless my boring bars are less than 2" off the turret they vibrate like crazy, 1" thick bars 4-5" deep at the most..

I have tried everything to figure this out and i cant stop the vibration, super slow rpm with heavy cuts, super fast rpm with small cuts, nothing works...

any help would be appreciated sorry for the sloppy post im really busy now that i have to repair these bores on the conventional lathe

Maybe silly Q time, but …………

Did the tool holders or where they clamp to the turret get damaged in the crash - or even the turret itself? ……...have you had the tool holder out of the turret and the tools out of the holders?

Make sure the head stock is aligned , pull off the chuck or collet nose and check for damage then put it back on.
if the machine ran perfectly before, unless you wiped out the spindle bearings the "professionals" didnt get it correct.

Is the machine a Hitachi Seiki by any chance? Some of their models used a cam system to index and clamp the turret. Sometimes a crash would damage that mechanism which left the turret with low clamping pressure resulting in poor cutting performance.

Yes Check your spindle bearings Then the chuck and its jaws
Also the carriage Do you see any movement with a indicator while pulling and pushing at it Same with turret
Peter