What's new
What's new

Vise jaw milling question

bisctboy

Plastic
I have searched the internet for vise jaws that will fit my need and can't seem to find what I'm looking for. I am looking to securely hold a piece of stainless steel round bar so I can mill slots into it on its sides similar to what a cross-hole jig would do. I have attached a picture of what I need on a design that I did on Fusion 360 to better show what I looking for. I am brand new to CNC milling so excuse the green behind my ears...

First, is there anything already out there that is similar to what I have in the picture? I can't use v blocks because they would cover too much of the circumference of the round bar.

Second, is milling the jaws out of aluminum a bad idea since the part I am milling is stainless steel?

Lastly, how would I mill out the round bar profile to match the 1" diameter and does my design look like it would provide enough clamping pressure to securely hold the round bar while milling it? I couldn't find a ball end mill that is 1" diameter.

round bar vise jaws.jpg

Thanks,

Making the jaws of steel you could dress a wheel to have a radius and then grind the 1" form.

On a mill, and choosing aluminum jaws you might mill V forms to fit the shape.

Aluminum jaws nick up easily so need extra care.

Consider if you mill slots near or past center the held part may contract on the cutter.

*Many guys would just hold the part in common jaws.

QT:[I couldn't find a ball end mill that is 1" diameter.]

Milling Cutters | Convex Cutters | HSS Import Convex Milling Cutter, 1" Circle DIA x 3-1/4" Cutter DIA x 1" Hole | B557934 - GLOBALindustrial.com

https://www.amazon.com/Carbide-Mill...9Y2xpY2tSZWRpcmVjdCZkb05vdExvZ0NsaWNrPXRydWU=

https://www.amazon.com/YG-1-Uncoate...+End+Mills&qid=1607639744&s=industrial&sr=1-3