What's new
What's new

Water jet cutting prefinished material with UHB pre applied

JMcSweeney

Plastic
Hello All,

I am a new waterjet operator at a sign company in CA. I am only experienced with cutting big parts that were never seen out of steel or aluminum. I was wondering if others have had success cutting pre-finished material (brushed brass, stainless steel, etc.) with good face quality (no haze around edges caused by aggregate)? I have tried cutting through a thin piece of sintra or styrene on top of the material and it helps some but I can still see damage. Maybe something thicker and on both the back and face of the pre-finished material like a sandwich? Has anyone done this? The material that the parts are being made out of are usually very thin (>.090) to only about 3/8" or 1/2" (.375-.5) Also the fabricators in the shop have to spend a lot of time applying VHB (Very High Bond) tape to small letters and intricate parts. Is there a technique used to cut parts with this tape applied before waterjet cutting? I didn't think it would be much of an issue of the tape peeling off from the jet but I haven'y tried it yet. Anyway I know that's a lot of questions in one post of if anybody has info about anything I asked please feel free to let me know.

Thanks,
Jimmy Mc

Cutting VHB tape with anything ends up in a big mess for me, can't see it going well with a water jet either. VHB is not spouse to get wet either i believe prior to use. It uses a acrylic adhesive. hence why it has a plastic not paper release film.

Jimmy:

We've had good results cutting 16oz copper (0.022") on the waterjet. We did not use any aggregate - only water. Second, the work piece was held above the water level - not submerged. Finally we would sandwich the copper between two sheets of cheap 1/4" paneling. Haven't tried cutting VHB but it might work. Give it a shot and let us know how it works out.

Regards,

DB