What's new
What's new

What are the best gloves for CNC Operators

AntidoteBiomed

Plastic
Hi All,
Thought I'd throw this one out to the community. Myself and a colleague have tried a few types of gloves and currently use nitrile coated fabric gloves..these..

45400_01.jpg-0_600.jpg

Great for gripping but I get fine chips stabbing me through the fingertips.

Has anyone found the magical product to offer grip, protection, comfort and ability to handle smallish tools?

I'm in Australia, but happy to access Amazon or other foreign suppliers.

I'm a relative newbie to machining.

Interesting, never gave it a thought. In 40+ years of being around CNCs, I've never used them when running one and only very rarely saw other folks using gloves. Once in a while when doing repairs maybe I'd use whatever work gloves were handy. Sometimes a pair of heavy duty rubber gloves when cleaning a sump.

Will be interesting to hear what others do.

If you like your hands, do not wear gloves at all whilst running any kind of a rotating spindle machine. A lot of shops have rules against it. Ours does.

If you like your hands, do not wear gloves at all whilst running any kind of a rotating spindle machine. A lot of shops have rules against it. Ours does.

I mostly agree with that, but I do wear light surgical gloves when I work. They tear off very easily if they do get caught (happened once on a lathe), anything stronger or fabric is a no-go due to the risk.

As far as metal splinters, I don't get them that often, maybe change how you grab stuff or pre-clean, or change tooling to get "bulk" chips rather than fine needles.

No gloves at the VMC, having switched over to Blaser BC935SW.

Nitrile gloves at the Mori SL-2B lathe, as I'm still pushing through the last of the Trim 685 that I apparently have an allergic reaction to. Once I'm through the last of the Trimsol in the lateh, it will get the Blaser product and then hopefully no gloves anywhere.