What's new
What's new

What is YOUR favorite end mill for roughing ALUMINUM?

STEVEN7685

Plastic
I work at a shop who's main focus is sheet metal fabrication.

However, we have recently found out that if we don't machine our own parts then we kind of can't afford to have the machined components. I have an AS degree in welding technology, but am the guy who has been designated the machinist which I'm totally cool with.

Anyway, we have had some help from a lifelong machinist pal who is kind enough to hold our hand through our first chips. So I'm kind of just doing what he taught me.

We have a 1992 Haas VF0 with 7k max RPM and a (IMO) very over estimated 10 HP spindle. Our 3 HP Bridgeport can take heavier cuts without stalling, but I digress.

I was taught to use a 3 flute 1/2" carbide uncoated end mill for aluminum. The sales person at our tooling supplier really likes to push M A FORD cutters. But is that the best option?

ATM I am roughing with one of these cutters at 6000 RPM, .3" DOC .24" Radial and 52.5 IPM feed Using Hangsterfer"s 503cf (I think) flood coolant. A MRR of 3.8? Again, I'm green.

What are your favorite tools for roughing aluminum?
Are there better choices than what I'm being sold?
Are there cutters that can rough more aggressively and load the spindle less?

I appreciate any input I can get from you skilled peoples!

Hoo boy, that's a precious roughing pass ;).

I get >50 in^3/min with my 30-taper Brother Speedio -- 7HP? 8 HP? I forget.

The most efficient rougher I've found is Maritool 3-flute ZrN-coated carbide rougher. 16,000 RPM 288 IPM, .175" radial, 1-1/4" axial.

Next best is Destiny Diamondback 3-flute "Stealth" coating. Same parameters, but noisier and higher spindle load.

With your 7,000 RPM, I would try either of the above at .20" radial at first, then raise either the radial or the feed as desired.

Unless, your 1992 machine is super-sad and not making anything close to 10 HP :scratchchin:

Regards.

Mike