What's new
What's new

Who has a decent face mill around 2"

MwTech Inc

Titanium
Want to add a face mill to my first CNC machine.
Top spindle speed is 4500

Just looking for something for general surfacing, plastics, alum mostly.

No problem with changing out inserts for materials.

Didnt know if face mills used for manual machining and cnc are the same or not?

Machining is machining right?? Should make no difference about what is turning it??

I prefer Kennametal and they had mills and inserts that were more than capable for my 4500 RPM spindles.
I do admit to having reasonably good luck with some no name indexable tools from the tool catalogs like Travers as well.

Two inch a real design problem in an inserted face mill. The other question being do you need a true 90 wall or just face milling.
Ingersoll style (outboard screws) allows a higher density and body stiffness in my view but I am still learning these things.
When getting into Al and plastics different inserts change the edge and top rake but not the heel.
Maybe check out offerings from this guy (a member here) or give him a call.
Lathe inserts .com

I love my Mitsubishi ASX445 with polished inserts for aluminum or plastic. The inserts have lands so you can feed very aggressively and still end up with a smooth surface. The inserts are angled for a 45 degree shoulder and positive rake with 4 useable corners per. I have a 2-1/2" version but I know they make them smaller.

For just general wackitaround milling I was happy with a Sandvik that used tpg inserts. Those are so common and cheap that you can stock inserts for different materials easy. Nothing real special for a particular use but versatile for all-around. And it milled to a shoulder, which was nice sometimes.

For plastics and aluminum I am really loving the Korloy Pro-X (which latheinserts.com sells as the "Ripper" mills). The body/insert pricing is really good BUT BUT BUT some sizes are really hard to find right now.