What's new
What's new

Why I love the new Maritool shanked down cutters

implmex

Diamond
Hi All:
Recently I posted my first impressions of Frank Mari's new shanked down cutters.
Well here's another job I just happen to be running right now that shows one of their best strengths.

So the cutter is a 1/4" bullnose with 0.020" corner rad, running on a manual Bridgeport clone, milling 360 brass 1.2" deep.
The picture shows perfectly how the shank is cleared.
Ran like a bunny and did a great job on the sidewalls.
I'm a happy guy!

Cheers

Marcus
Implant Mechanix • Design & Innovation > HOME
Vancouver Wire EDM -- Wire EDM Machining

Attachments

• DSCN4929.jpg
    DSCN4929.jpg
    86 KB · Views: 615
As I've been working with accomplished programmers and machinists (being a novice myself) I've found that the necked-down shank is a *very* powerful tool in the shop. We have tools ground like this all the time now!

Been doing this myself on standard cutters, using a michelin T&C grinder for the last 20 years as a moldmaker.
Glad to see Frank and a few others have picked up on it.

Its a pain in the ass to relieve a 1/2" ball mill for 4" reach yourself.

A bit of a question Marcus,
What sort of slacking off do you do at those depths opposed to a stubby cutter?

I generally push a stubby cutter in there first and then go for the "relieved by myself" one to finish off but I find that if I go 50% of my cutting parameters I still get deflection. At times I just baby the longer cutter from the top down so that I know that there will not be any mismatch.

I have seen how you push your cutters and honestly value any advice that you have for me.

Hi NAST555:
I ran this particular job by babying it as you describe, so my DOC was only 0.025" and I was feeding manually on the Bridgeport so at a guess my feedrate may have been 30 IPM or thereabouts but my spindle speed was only 3000 RPM because the Bport starts howling alarmingly above that.