Country
    SPAIN
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by jz79 View Post
    this is supposedly what it looks like:
    Attachment 267532

I'm not very experienced with this, but I wouldn't call that a shit design...
    On a machine of this size, and cost, the LAST thing I'd expect to see is an axis "floating" about.
    It's a high torque spindle - but what's the point of that if you can't use it (rigid tapping 2" pipe threads? )
    Cutters of that diameter should snap like a carrot long before the axis should be bouncing around.
    If I was DMG, I'd be putting a video out this morning with a short stubby holder etc to try and clear my name...

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Attachment 267532

I'm not very experienced with this, but I wouldn't call that a shit design...
    I'm just an amateur (hack) machine/mechanical designer, but to me that Y/Z casting looks very light, as if designed for HSM and not roughing as was shown in the video. I could easily see that thin wall casting deflecting and allowing a torsion displacement of the cutter, in line with what barbter mentions in #19.

I couldn't tell if there was movement at the toolholder/spindle interface, my guess is casting twisting and perhaps the spindle and Z axis ways deflecting a bit too. But I'd blame the casting for most of the uncontrolled movement.

3. Likes barbter liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by barbter View Post
    On a machine of this size, and cost, the LAST thing I'd expect to see is an axis "floating" about.
    It's a high torque spindle - but what's the point of that if you can't use it (rigid tapping 2" pipe threads? )
    It's a 12,000 lb machine.

Who said anything about high torque? HSK63 and high torque is an oxymoron.