What's new
What's new

Yuasa 4th axis

We also have a used Yuasa indexer. The controller is an absolute pain to use, and I've been given many warnings by my support guy on how easy it is to wipe settings which require it to be sent in to fix, but I have no complaints about the indexer itself.

Dylad,

Thank you so much for the response. I am new to 4th axis. My understanding is that my program will have an Mcode that will signal the indexer to do its program, which I edit at its own box, then when that is done, control returns to my machine? Is this correct?

Can you be more specific about the model of the indexer you have?

The model of the indexer itself, and more importantly, the model number of the control box

If your controller box is a PNC100/500 (blue box), or CPNC 100/500 (green box), then you can program positions into the box easily using the keypad, and fire Mcode(s) on your machine to make it work. Requires a finish signal input to the cnc.

If your control is a UDNC100/500 (white box), you can do the same as above, but require a calculator (hp 48 I think) to program it. Optionally, you can write a macro for your machine to send positional commands to the box thru RS232 with this box. Still requires finish signal.

If your box is neither of these, but newer, then I have no experience with it. I believe they are similar to the UDNC boxes except they don't require the stupid calculator.

Personally, in terms of reliability, I prefer the CPNC boxes. We have several, and they have way less problems than the UDNC boxes. They are easier to program (no calculator) and change parameters (again, no calculator required)

Stay away from the PNC boxes. It isn't that they don't work; they do. But they have an open loop stepper motor setup, which means if the indexer stalls, the indexer won't know, and the machine will continue on like everything is fine!