Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Country
    GREECE
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Hi to all,

though, as a true hobbyist, I tend to overcomplicate things more often than not, I think that I might have actually done some real progress here without getting into much fuss and, mostly, without doing any damage.

I did manage to find some workshop quality time and started by putting the spindle on the lathe and getting a measurement on the bearing-seat's taper in order to get an idea how much metal I should remove, as Ross had initially suggested:

I opted to indicate off the top of the spindle so, using the cross-slide, it was easy to find the high spot and secure that I was, indeed, on center (which is my main fear when trying to indicate a taper 'horizontally' in order to replicate it with the top slide). I got 0.046 mm taper, radially, per 1 mm of axial move. So, we are talking about 92 um/mm in diameter.

I had let's say 0.006 mm play, so, in order to get it to zero, I need to move the bearing 0.065 mm towards the fat part of the taper, so that's how much I had to remove off the spacer.

So, I thought it wouldn't mind if I worked on the original spacer and get it over with. I tried to measure the spacer and note the values, it worked only with a micrometer. On the surface plate I din't have that much luck since the spacer was quite bent, I had around 0.04 mm of rocking!
    You night be able to see the transfer-blue gaps here:

So, I spent quite some time lapping the spacer applying hand pressure on the high spots. After some effort, I got it really flat (very thing layer of blue, I hope it's visible):