What's new
What's new

Aciera F5 slotting attachment in action

rklopp

Diamond
I had to customize two sprockets to fit a gearbox and saw input shaft. Not having the proper broaches, I hauled out the Aciera slotting attachment I picked up for my F5. I used a 1/2” lathe boring bar with a 3/16” bit turned sideways. It worked a treat.
c209b8ff867aad1d49a7972259ad4aff.jpg
850e746806071cc6b343ca929c84f5a7.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Very nice, indeed...

I have no experience with the machine tool business at all and, therefore, am wondering how a tool sold by Greub in Switzerland could have made it to your place ?????

Rich:
Nice looking unit. Can you give some additional details on how the tool is retained?
I understand the top clamp, but what is the seat like? Can it account for different sized tools?
Are there only two clamp bolts to secure the head on its swivel(protractor)?

Cheers Ross

Very nice, indeed...

I have no experience with the machine tool business at all and, therefore, am wondering how a tool sold by Greub in Switzerland could have made it to your place ?????

The F5's previous owner only had a low-mount table on the machine and a tilt table he bought separately and never took out of its crate. He had gotten quotes for a 7-slot fixed table from Greub, first high and then at $500 (must not be flying off the shelves). When I got the machine, I asked Greub if they would honor the $500 price, and they would. I knew Greub had a slotter for sale, so I figured that, since I was going to all of the trouble of shipping the table from Switzerland, I might as well ship the slotter, too, so asked how much for the slotter. The answer was a price so low that my wrist got whiplash reaching for my wallet. The shipping cost as much as the goods, but still a good deal for a table and slotter that appear to have never been used.