What's new
What's new

Adventures with a Lleaking FP3 / wipers & seals maintenance -- some questions

kaiten

Plastic
Hi folks,

I have a good old FP3 I have been using for a few years now. It has always been leaking slightly from the back of its ram and dropping oil onto the top of the motor.
I was aware of the problem, discussed it with my friend TNB, who I got the machine from. Never really worried me...
...until it began getting much worse with more and more oil ending up in the chip pan and down into the sump.
The machine behaving nicely and located against a wall with very little rear access, I did not investigate any further.

Well a few weeks ago I had the house water boiler giving up for good, and had to shuffle the machines in the shop to access it ;-(
So good old Miss FP3 ended up in a new place in the shop where I can move around better. So I took time to level it 100% nicely, and began trying to understand where the oil in the sump came from.
Turns out that the upper (spindle) gearbox was almost empty and it was its oil down there, and also leaking on the motors, etc.
Some more digging & I found the motor belts were almost melted too...

So it was time for a good disassembly... removed the motor, that also got new bearings while I was at it, cleaned everything & changed belts.
Guess where most of the oil seems to have come from ?

P1140416_cropped.jpg

The wipers at the rear of the upper ram were just melted. These were not the original wipers, but approximations made out of a plastic of some sort that was melting like crazy. Turns out the wipers at the front of the ram are also made of the same material, also melting badly.
I knew then that it was time for a new wipers kit (Abstreifersatz) from Herr Singer's dream shop. It arrived slightly early for Mother's day and I am in the process of installing it. It also has the wipers for X & Z.