What's new
What's new

Advice on buying a machine from Switzerland or Germany

Rudgeman

Plastic
I've been looking for a quality compact milling machine with a quill head for months now. I'm beginning to conclude that the best machines are to be found on the continent. Most of the machines I see listed look very well maintained but the virus restrictions rule out being able to travel and see them for myself.

So - does anyone have experience of buying a machine from dealers in Switzerland or Germany ? One of them is quoting 900 Euros to transport from Switzerland to the UK. Sounds like a lot to me but there again I have no experience in doing this. I know the sensible thing is to wait until we've had the vaccine and then take a continental road trip but a. that could be a year off and b. I could use the retail therapy.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

R

900 euros: im surprised its so cheap. do you know what that price includes? we are talking about 1-2 tons right? remember, when you ship out of switzerland you pay "swiss prices".

I've just bought a machine from Germany, sight unseen.
I'm on the lowest edge of budget, so travel cost alone would have been 1/2 the price of the machine.

I'm in southern rural Portugal.

The lowest transport quote was from DB Shenker [thanks to users of this forum for the tip], at 420 euros door to door.
However, they insist that the machine is strapped + wrapped, and I can't arrange that from here.
Next higher quote from a smaller family firm, BP Sped, 520 euros.
They're willing to give me the extra few minutes to secure the machine.
It's 1.3 tons and on a europallet, but is wider than the pallet.

In both cases, it's been specified that there is a forklift at each end for loading / unloading.
That's important.

I tested my loader to be sure it can handle the load [it can], otherwise I would have arranged a larger machine from the neighborhood. It's much cheaper for me to do that then have the movers figure something out.