What's new
What's new

Deckel Dialog 11. Testing M19 = Spindle Orentation and mill did something truly scary

Vitran

Aluminum
Ran a program to test the M19 command
Spindle started spinning at ~2000rpm
Nothing else happened, so I pressed Feed Hold
Spindle did not stop when I hit Feed Hold
Spindle did not stop when I hit the power off button
Spindle continued to spin when I powered the machine back on
Spindle did not stop when I hit the Manual Stop Spindle button

I then typed in S100, turned on spindle clockwise and then the spindle downshifted to 100rpm. I then pressed spindle stop, and it stopped.

Background:
Old mill I have self-taught myself on. I don't know how to do some of the things on it and I am the most knowledgeable person on it at our shop. The mill has a horizontal and vertical spindle, however the horizontal spindle blank is not fully in there and I have no idea how to change between the horizontal and vertical. I have disabled the tool changer as it would continually say TC NOT IN BASE POSITION and nobody knows how to get that to work either. The Horizontal/Vertical switch results in no command.

Reading the manuals again I came across some interesting lines. M18 Search for Tool (for automatic tool change) and M19 Spindle orientation (for automatic tool change). I tried typing in M19, no luck, so I wrote a small program as follows:

N10 M3 S100
N20 M19
N30 M30

I ran it and saw something I thought I would never see. The spindle spinning when the red Power Off button was hit. (Note: The E-Stop button has been looked into, but does not work. The E-Stop is an AC circuit that somehow gets power from somewhere and will sometimes continue to stay on even when hit. When I picked up the mill someone had made a fused jumper across the circuit so the buttons do nothing. I had always assumed that Power Off would stop any servo in its tracks.)

Questions:
1. WTF is M19? How is it used? Do I activate it to change the spindle orientation? What is it doing?