What's new
What's new

Deckel FP-1 inspection, what to look for?

4n.2h

Plastic
(Hey all sorry if this is incorrect in some way but I'm new to the forum)
I've been talking with a guy recently about buying an early Deckel FP-1 and since it's so far from me I'll probably have it inspected. Is there any general things to tell the inspector to look for it's my first time buying a machine so all help is appreciated.

deckel 1.jpg

Since it's so far from me I'll probably have it inspected. Is there any general things to tell the inspector to look for?

Where is it located? If there is someone experienced from this group, who is not far, they might be willing to have a look for you.

I would suggest the following checklist:
- verify that the machine has been lubricated with oil, not grease
- measure backlash in X/Y, hopefully under 0.020"
- do all axes run to their limits manually and under power?
- horizontal and vertical spindles runs in all speeds without too much noise
- check the horizontal and vertical spindles for play/runout, condition of internal tapers
- the feeds work in all speeds and axes without too much noise
- the oil levels are OK
- examine the visible ways. Are there scraping marks (good) or galling marks (bad)?
- is the horizontal table (X) tight at the ends or sloppy in the middle?
- are bellows present (X,Y,Z)? Are they torn? I don't see the Z bellow in the photo, is it in a box nearby?
- are spindle tapers SK40 (better) or Morse Taper 4 (not as good).
- is there tooling?

Last edited:
- verify that the machine has been lubricated with oil, not grease

This item tops the list with good reason!
Effective lubrication is seriously compromised if grease has been pumped into the saddle, and that can only be fixed by completely dismantling the saddle.

Good luck,
Bill

Thanks for the checklist its a big help, and it's in Carson City Nevada just south of Reno.