What's new
What's new

Deckel fp1 with damaged top way/rail.

Zlimmy

Plastic
What's best repair to this crack on my fp1? It's about 8-9cm long and 1/10mm bent up at end of way. I was thinking Bracket, weld or both, but maybe there something else better to do? 🤔 Opinions from experienced persons fixing such is appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20200301_233832_copy_1824x872.jpg
    IMG_20200301_233832_copy_1824x872.jpg
    97.4 KB · Views: 421
  • IMG_20200301_233802_copy_1824x3814.jpg
    IMG_20200301_233802_copy_1824x3814.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 408
  • IMG_20200301_233741_copy_1824x3815.jpg
    IMG_20200301_233741_copy_1824x3815.jpg
    88.4 KB · Views: 374
Can this part be removed and fixtured on the table of another mill, or is this the main casting? I have no experience with Deckels, but IMO bolting a bracket or other plate over it will help shor it up so it doesn't flex, but it'll be hard to make it co-plainer to it's original surface. It's really hard to push a crack 100% back together. I'd mill the affected area out and bolt a new piece of cast iron in it's place, cut to match the original surfaces.

I'd mill the affected area out and bolt a new piece of cast iron in it's place, cut to match the original surfaces.

Ditto. But unfair advantage.

- 980 lbs of the right sort of Iron on-hand. Former G&L hor-bore bedway.

- Another mill big enough to get at it and do the do.

Not a lot to lose if you try to:

- drill and pin it,

- bleed adhesive into the crack. As anti-rust (rust EXPANDS..) as much as for strength.

- Once stable, dress the displaced surfaces to match adjacent surfaaces. Could be hand file and abrasives work, not stressful milling.

- Fab and bolt-on a brace.

- Check the surfaces for dress and the crevice for being sealed once the brace is secured.

And then.. simply accept some restrictions as to no longer having 100% range of use.

But still being able to buy groceries while still young enough to eat of them.