What's new
What's new

Deckel FP1 -helicoïdal milling accessory, beginners question

Michel L.

Plastic
Hello everybody,

Being retired, as a new amateur and unexperienced machinist I was lucky enough to find a Deckel FP1 at a very low price, I started to learn the basics of milling on my own. I found some excellent teachers on the Internet (i.e. "That lazy Machinist.com").

However, some problems remain hard to solve for me as I am not a professional, and I kindly request help from more experienced Deckel users.

The problem I'am facing now is that I have a helicoïdal milling accessory, and I would like to learn how to make straight and helicoïdal gears. While the FP1 machine itself is provided with Morse N°4 taper, the helicoïdal milling accessory is provided with a tapered hole called (in French) "Cône normalisé 40" (= something like "Normalised taper 40" in English. I have also a male taper part provided with a point that fits correctly in the divider head and also a sliding headstock with a point. So I could attach a workpiece between the two points. However, I would rather like to buy a chuck for maintaining workpieces into the divider headstock.

My question is: what should I buy exactly? I would think that I need a male taper piece "Normalised 40", to connect to a backplate, and a chuck to be screwed in the backplate. Looking around on the Internet, I could not find these 3 parts to fit together.

Could somebody help my find a solution for this problem? Can somebody give me a reference of a supplier? Or am I wrong in my method?

Many thanks in advance,

Michel

Michel

If your helical milling attachment has a 40 taper, the spindle nose probably has 4 radial tapered holes.
Those holes are meant to mount a chuck backplate such as this one directly. No taper.

Please note that the backplate in the ad is for a plain dividing head.