What's new
What's new

Deckel FP3NC - debug connection to PC

ivang

Plastic
Hello, guys,

I'm glad to be part of this really nice forum!

I have one really silly question about Deckel FP3NC - is there a way to debug communication between Deckel FP3NC and PC via RS232?

A colleague of mine used to use and maintain the machine.Unfortunately he passed away due to Covid complications... Hope he is on a better place now! All the knowledge about the machine gone with him.
I'm trying to bring-up the machine now, but I'm an electrical engineer and I don't have any practical experience with CNC. I found the User's manual for Deckel Dialog 4, and based on it I was able to start the machine, move on X,Y,Z in modes 4,5,6, so I think the machine is working.
Now I'm trying to load some programs via RS-232. I have the cable my colleague used, checked it - it's OK, all wires are properly connected and soldered well, no faulty wiring or short circuits.
Regarding User's guide, mode 14 has to be used to transfer files to CNC. I did the following:
- selected "Mode 14" from knob;
- with <> went to interface selection and selected RS-232;
- in RS-232 menu selected 9600/8/n/1;
- went back to main menu;
- selected "In" mode;
- selected program 100 and pressed "Transfer" button;

And everything stops here. I have NCPlot v2.34 installed on PC. PC is equipped with hardware RS-232, not USB-to-Serial. COM port is working, check it with loopback cable. When I try to transfer some .nc file, NCPlot says "Transfer completed", but nothing happens on CNC. COM port setting are the same as CNC.

Could you please advise me how to proceed.

Dialog 4 is very particular as the exact format it will accept for file transfers....

First some hardware notes....
I would not use 9600 baud...that is too fast for that aging interface, you will have fewer errors using 4800.....
Also i never use any parity....My machine runs 4800,8,1...