What's new
What's new

First Mill - Abused Abene VHF3 - Need advice!

MechLever

Plastic
Hi all,
My first post here. First off, I want to say I have learned a LOT from this forum - so thanks for sharing your knowledge! I have some experience with milling machines, but very little with maintenance/repair.

The mill (my first for the home shop):
An acquaintance passed away, and I was offered his VHF3 for scrap price (very low). However, I soon discovered that he never had the mill running - he picked it up in a scrap yard and had great plans, but health prevented their execution. I love the concept of this machine, but in short, it's rough.

I will need a rotophase to get 3-phase, but want to look at it mechanically first - after a quick peek inside, I think I should be comfortable enough with the electrical side of it when (if?) the time comes.

I took it home (see photo), managed to free up the arbor and remove it; the exposed areas of overarm support bar were heavily rusted - I soaked in fluid film and wire-wheeled the rust off with a soft wheel (see photo).

Freed up the head, now travels nicely up and down its ways. Also peeked into the gearbox and everything looks/feels great.

However:
Longitudinal travel is the only one that moves. Transverse and vertical are very stuck. Are there any tips for freeing these? I suspect corrosion is the issue on vertical (top exposed dovetail ways were rusted).

I don't want to break anything, but I am looking for realistic advice. Is this a rusty pile, or will I end up with an ok machine if I persevere? ANY input/next steps greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Attachments

• 20191021_190435.jpg
    20191021_190435.jpg
    92 KB · Views: 225
  • 20191021_190414.jpg
    20191021_190414.jpg
    89.3 KB · Views: 224
  • 20191021_190401.jpg
    20191021_190401.jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 269
Not a bad looking machine, seen lots worse.Think its worth more investigation.