What's new
What's new

First Time CnC, Contour 3 help needed!

Harri89

Cast Iron
Hello!

I have never used a cnc machine before. I am trying to learn the basics.

I have tried to program with a sharpie marker some g2/3 codes. I can make full circle and 180' etc. But when i try to add a straight cut before a 180' turn i get error 95 all the Time. The g2/3 code Works without a g91 straight cut block.

Can someone give me an example of the program structure, what is needed to a complete program.?

I see some examples over the internet with 2 different g codes in same block, how i can do this?

I appreciate all help what i get here, i am total beginner with these and got no one to teach me.

The machine is a 1hour drive away from me, cant remember the whole code. But if i had a working block with g2/3 code and i added a g01 or 91 with short x axis cycle before it i had error 95.

Can someone show how to write a complete code with all command needed to shape in link.

oval curve shape - Google Search

The machine is a 1hour drive away from me, cant remember the whole code. But if i had a working block with g2/3 code and i added a g01 or 91 with short x axis cycle before it i had error 95.

Can someone show how to write a complete code with all command needed to shape in link.

oval curve shape - Google Search

If you can't remember or post the code, how can you expect anyone else to know how you've set up the program and where you are having problems? :scratchchin:
Are you trying to machine the inside of that oval, or the outside? Are you using tool compensation or not? Makes a big difference in how the program is written.Does your control have the "parameter" option?

No tool compensation, the oval line is just the center of "tool"
I am just trying to understand the structure of program, what is needed.

Zero point left front corner.
R is 15mm trying to do 180' so p1 and p2 in arc distance 30mm

It was something like this..

N1 g00 x20 y20 z1 s100
N2 s100 f100 z0