What's new
What's new

How are you powering your Abene Mill?

KTapply

Aluminum
What’s your best advice for providing power to my Abene Mill? I have 220v single phase coming in and use a VFD for my bridgeport and my Clausing lathe. I connected a 7hp VFD up today and she doesn’t want to run. <<Shrug>>

The motor won't move at all? Is it delta wound? Do you get and strange smells or small movements when you try an run it? Could do with more information and some photos.

The motor won't move at all? Is it delta wound? Do you get and strange smells or small movements when you try an run it? Could do with more information and some photos.

I bought the mill from the son of the deceased owner and while he did his best to represent it accurately he thought it was wired for 220v 3 phase I now suspect it is configured for 480 rather than 220V. Here are some pictures, perhaps someone can help me interpret how it's wired.... ( I am not an electrician)...

IMG_6118.jpg

IMG_6117.jpg

IMG_6116.jpg

IMG_6115.jpg

IMG_6114.jpg

I think the place you really need to look is inside the motor terminal box, looking at the nameplate it only implies star config, in that case a VFD will not work, at least not at full power.

I think it's a good rule when I say things like "I'm not an electrician" I try and find someone to look over it

Yeah, I did have an electrician out today to install the VFD and look at it. But he was unsure. I would be curious what others are using to power their Abenes? Does anyone have one running on a VFD?

I don't know if this will run on a VFD or not. Regardless I need to determine if it is configured to run on 220v or 480v and if it can be configured to run on 220v that is much better for me as none of my other machines run on 480v. I would be interested to learn how others are powering their Abene's.

Here are the schematics in case anyone here may be able to interpret them.

IMG_6123.jpg

IMG_6122.jpg
Thanks,

Kevin