What's new
What's new

Spindle speed change problems Deckel FP2NC

chibbe

Plastic
Hi all,

So my deckel is just brought back from the dead.
(It had problems electronic problems in some cards) I have never used this machine before so I dont know how/when this problem started.

The problem is when I push the spindle start button (Left or right with or without spindle brake on doesnt matter) I hear the spindle brake goes on and off like every second. I removed cover for gearchange solenoid/motors I see that all three motors trying to put gears in so all this seems fine!?
I removed the backcover of the spindle motor and can see the spindle brake moves but the motor is not Rocking/moving at all!
In the big electrical cabinett I see that Relay K10 and K1 is pulling/releasing after each other every second or so and K3 is pulled constanly.

If I use a stick to force the motor slightly in any direction during the machines attemt to put the gears in. I can eventually get the spindle to start and this works at all different speeds and in both directions. Ones the spindle starts at a selected speed, it starts directly the next time I hit the start button again.

I thought relay K3 was the problem with poor contact. My voltage meter wasn`t fast enough to measure the voltage passing over K3. But Resistance check showed some varius ohms up to about 120ohm so I took it apart.
20210131_115310.jpg
All contact surfaces looked good but I cleaned them anyway and put it back together, measured resistance and it was more or less nothing. Back in the machine again but still same result.
I also measured the 3 big resistors, they all was 56 ohms.

Thanks to Ross "AlfaGTA" explanation in this thread below I got a understanding how this system should work:

https://www.practicalmachinist.com/...ene-mills/deckel-fp-nc-spindle-speeds-295614/

I also copy/paste Ross writing here below:

The wiring diagram you post is for the first generation FP-NC's.