What's new
What's new

DMG CTX 310 eco

GazMann

Plastic
Hi first post here.

I have just been offered a good deal on a new DMG CTX 310 eco with a Mori mapps iv control, and wanted to know what peoples thoughts and experiences with this machine is.
The lathe will be used in a university environment by trained operators (not students) machining a variety of materials and mainly one of items. I am wanting to know how easy the machine is to setup and run.

Thanks in advance

Gday, my first post here too.

You've prob made a decision already, but I'll put my two cents in.
I'm new to MAPPS IV myself (we just bought an NZ2000), but have been a machinist for years. Mazatrol, Fanuc and Okuma are what I'm used to.
If you don't want to spend the time making up all the tool models for the 3D Interference checking (which wouldn't be a huge concern on a basic lathe like this), then "one off" setups can be quite quick.
If you know ISO programming, in conjunction with the MAPPS, you'll be cutting metal in no time at all.
I can't comment on DMG machines themselves though, no experience there.

Soon...

I have just received a DMG CTX 310 ECO and will have it up and running next week. Let you know what I think after it pulls a chip.

I think I got the same deal. Not sure if it was the right decision yet. The Siemens 810D is not a Fanuc. That much I know for sure. Slowly getting up to speed with the HMI. Not going to make a judgement yet, but I have a first impression:angry:. The spindle is very quiet and the Sauter turret seems solid and reliable (even if it does have a strange way of locking after the index). My machine has the PCU_20 software which we are struggling to plumb into the windows seven ethernet environment. We have had a few nagging drawbar proximity switch problems- maybe something in the parameters...

DMG service has been lacking. They still have an opportunity to make things right, so I am just going to bite my tongue for now.

:cheers: