The "fix your Maho" thread - Page 20
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 20 of 20 FirstFirst ... 10181920
Results 381 to 398 of 398
  1. #381
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Country
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    3

    Default

    Hi!
    That is right... I have noticed... I tried to get it back through the fill port but that was not so easy... A brass ring seems to be used to press the filter in place in the top lid of the housing... Might give it one more go but otherwise I think I leave it as it is and make sure to use a funnel with a filter... I am not so keen on dissasembleing the tank...

    /Kammlake

  2. Likes Nerv, HBOB liked this post
  3. #382
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ohio-USA
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Dissembling the Lub oil tank would be a walk in a park compared to all the Z axis problems . Look's as if the Tac is the problem.
    I was really hoping the 3TRN2 and servo motors were OK. Facts are facts ,and useing a Ohm meter at the Tac commutator (bus bars)
    eliminates all of the - what if - check that - look at something else. Think you deserve a "Good Job / Well Done" medal.

    I am interested in what your fix/repair will be. Looked at my MH600E and noted the MDC 10 . 20 F????? servo motors had the same
    Tac voltage value on their labels. Also the 3TRM2 modules for each motor had the same 9V at 2000RPM value for the 3 different Tac inputs.

    My thinking is a used replacement Tac from any Indramat MDC ??.?? servo motor might work, My MDC 10.20F labels show 0.317Vs/Rad.
    for Tac output. Would be interesting to know if the shaft diameter ( at Tac mounting position) varies/changes with motor size.

    Have read when re-installing the Tac to use a new crush washer an use new carbon brushes if replacing the Tac with a different or new one.
    If you get a chance ,could you measure the motor shaft diameter at the position where the Tac mounts?

    Wonder what caused the Tac failure? Think I would be Ohm meter checking the orange wire cable going to the motor to see if any of the power wires
    (motor or brake wires ) might be shorting to the Tac wires.

    Hope you can find some cheap replacement parts. If not cheap then at least reasonable cost. Please keep us posted on your thoughts and
    what you are finding.

  4. #383
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Country
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    3

    Default

    Hi!
    I have three alternatives. First one is to replace the whole motor. I think I might be able to trade one for something I have laying around. However I suspect that it is not really the same motor (looks longer). Second option (if I get hold of that motor) will be to pull out the tac of the "new" motor (assuming it is the same) and use that as a replacement part.

    Regarding the washer you are right. It is stated in the manual. I have however not found anything about new brushes... I hesitated to pull out the tac because of that washer but I had to move forward so I just did it.... Now it is in place again with that same non-reusable washer.... Will have to think about that one when doing the permanent fix...


    Option three is to replace the tachometer with an electronic one. Since I could not find any suitable I would build it myself. I would use a magnet on the shaft and a modern rotary hall sensor chip outputting the angle. Then I would write some software for a microcontroller that outputs a voltage that is depending on the angular speed....

    First I will see if I can get hold of that motor....

    I will try to remember to measure the shaft next time I dissasemble the motor.

    /Kammlake

  5. #384
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Hi Guys,
    I have a Maho 600E but cannot find the constants pages. I would love to know if anyone out there has the machine constants for this machine. The control is Phillips 432.

    Thanks in advance,
    Brett

  6. #385
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Country
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    3

    Default

    Hello!
    I have now solved my z-axis problem. I thought I share some pictures and how I did it... Unfortunately I now have another problem.... :-( see next message...


    So my tachometer was not working and I didn't understand how to fix it so I was looking for spare parts. In the meantime I tried to design my own tachometer. I used a rotary hall sensor and a microcontroller hooked up to some driver circuit generating the output signal proportional in amplitude to the speed of rotation.

    I actually managed to get it sort of working.... It looked quite good on the scope. However when I tried it on the mill I got oscillations again... but this time different ones depending on a too slow response of the tachometer. Also I had some problem with my voltage output stage.... I suppose I can get this thing to work if I put some more effort in

    IMG_21831_14537.jpg - Google Drive
    IMG_21831_1223.jpg - Google Drive
    IMG_218311_386.jpg - Google Drive

    After some dissapointment of not getting it to work I managed to get hold of some spare parts. I got three motors and a trm2 servo driver unit. I traded them for a lath chuck, some ball screws and some other tools I had laying around.

    The motor I got was slightly bigger than the one I have on my Maho. Since the servo driver is the same I figured it would work but I finally pulled out the tach on the new motor and pressed it in place on the old motor (by reusing the non-reusable shim...).

    After putting the thing together it worked immediately!!! :-)

    The sound from the z-axis now sounds healty again and not a trace of the oscillations.


    So I started to use the mill for some projects with success.... for some time.... (to be continued)...

    /Kammlake

  7. #386
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Country
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    3

    Default

    So....

    After some hours of happy milling my machine was totally dead again. Showing error code Y09 (dont have the exact name of the code now but something like "dynamic distance error").

    I read something about that the lamp can break.... I dissasembled the glass scale and could not see any light comming out. I took out the "bulb holder" and measured the resistance to confirm that the lamp was broken. I have no idea what kind of lamp that is (could not find anything on the internet either...). I put in a white LED instead. I really have no idea how much light there should be etc. but I gave it a try.

    The result right now is that nothing is working. I asume one have to trim the position of the lamp. Maybe also the intensity. I have no idea how to do that. Anyone with experience from this???

    Only difference is that when I had the scale reading head dissasemblied and turned on the mill I could tap pretty much anywhere on the head to get the error Y09. After installing the LED I cannot do that. I have to try to move the axis to get the error code.


    So right now I get no signal at all. At least I get no DRO increments when moving along the scale. Any suggestions on how to proceed. How bright should the lamp be? Is there a method for positioning the lamp? I took some pictures...

    Any help is most appreciated!!!

    IMG_218324_113132.jpg - Google Drive
    IMG_218324_113141.jpg - Google Drive
    IMG_218324_122659.jpg - Google Drive
    IMG_218326_22355.jpg - Google Drive
    IMG_218326_22443.jpg - Google Drive
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Ti...uNCPwJfAP97eXu
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1zf...4-ZIJolQ9L0yLS
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ee...GwpnWx_PkcQo00
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1gM...nz6gGHaQANZrl6
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=137...5AqrNrCq3tiNkk


    /Kammlake

  8. #387
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ohio-USA
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Kammlake You asked for any help,but I hope others will come with some real answers for you. The light bulb is (to me ) referred to as a "Grain
    of Wheat" style miniature bulb. That type or style of bulb is/was used in model trains-doll houses - medical gear- etc. Those bulbs came in
    various voltages and expended hours of use and also lumens or brightness/colour. I suspect the photo cell sensors are more sensitive to infrared
    than white light. That may be why the LED is not working ? Do know that infrared LEDs are a common available type. My guess is a LED emitting
    the lower frequency range of infrared might work. Again the key is what frequency/colour the photo cell sensors are sensitive to.
    If I was trying to find a usable light "Colour" ,think I might try to Scope the scales Exe. Board and shine the light source threw a moving Hair
    comb onto the photo cell sensors to see what the results are. The hair comb is used to simulate the markings on the scales glass spar.
    Glad to read you got the Y axis motor working. To bad it was so costly in usable stuff. Hope you do more with the Hall effect replacement for
    the motor tach. Also,a big Thank you for the very good Photo's. They are a big help for present and future MAHO owners.

  9. #388
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    62

    Default

    Thanks for those photos. Do you have a photo of the bulb you removed, out of the housing?

    On my MH400E, I had issues with the Z (normal Y) axis distance not matching the commanded move. Cleaned the scale, and sense head with IPA and digital camera sensor swabs, and now it works perfectly again. The instructions are here:
    Retrofitting a 1986 Maho MH4E - Page 32 - LinuxCNC


    My vertical axis gives no signal though, so I suspect a dead bulb like yours had. I haven't started trouble shooting it yet. Do your scales have 12V bulb power? Do the bulbs in ebay ID 230958896783 look similar?
    Mark

  10. #389
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Country
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Im located in Sweden, but I have all three servos, drive, color screen etc. for sale from my MH 500C. If you are interested, mail me and well continue there.
    [email protected]

  11. #390
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Country
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Hi guys. This will be my first post here and I'm not sure what thread would be appropriate. Anyhow...

    I have just acquired a Maho MH300C. It is my first CNC machine but I got a lot of the original documentation and manuals with it so I got it running. Through this forum and some google I got the serial communication going. I have lists of machine constants but some things were strange so I compared the machine to the old lists of constants and have some mismatch. Maybe they had to re-enter them and missed a few.

    N590 C0 - milling spindle clock pulse pause time, set to zero. What is this? In the old print-outs this constant N590 is set to 8, maybe this is the correct number?

    (N591 C15 - milling spindle clock pulse pulse time, is set to 15 which seems correct)

  12. #391
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Country
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    Another strange thing which led me to check every constant was the scale on the Z axis started at 0 when doing a reference run. Then it read all the numbers as negative when jogging.

    N333 reference point offset was set to C0 (zero) where the correct number was 210000. Changed this and it correctly read 210.022 mm in Z. But then I started looking.

    software limit switch +direction

    1:st axis N235 is C12000
    2:nd axis N285 is C12000
    3:rd axis N335 is C1200 <- note the missing zero

    This seems like no coincidence. What would be the reason to change Z to 0 and set a software limit to 1200?

  13. #392
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    62

    Default

    Quick update on my MH400E retrofit. A friend of mine, who is a professional programmer, has written a LinuxCNC .comp to control the eighteen speed gearbox of the MAHO.

    Home * jin-eld/mh4e-linuxcnc Wiki * GitHub

    He wrote a simulator and created a sim.gui to test the software, and it is working well, so we've now moved on to testing it on the machine.

    I have also made a fair bit of progress on the new user control panel for my retrofit. It is physically finished, and internally wired up. The interface buttons are 5x5 multiplex using LinuxCNC's matrix-kb function. The next step with it is to re-terminate an existing MAHO cable with the correct connectors, and wire it into the MESA 7i77. so I can get those soft keys working. The ELO touch screen is working, although with wierd color. Probably due to the VGA to RJ45 adaptors used to wire it to the controller PC.

    Unfortunately the Y axis glass scale encoder which I cleaned and was working correctly has stopped funcioning, so I need to troubleshoot that as well. At least that one is accessible.

    As usual, the full story is on the LinuxCNC website here...
    Retrofitting a 1986 Maho MH4E - Page 48 - LinuxCNC
    Mark
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails img_0365.jpg  

  14. Likes BugRobotics liked this post
  15. #393
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    62

    Default

    Today I continue testing the gearbox.comp for LinuxCNC. I'd specified it with CW/CCW reversed, but once that was corrected it works perfectly.

    MAHO MH4E - Linuxcnc retrofit - gearboxcontrol - YouTube

    Now I need to integrate it into the HAL file and so if there is any screwy behaviour when it gets called by a gcode program, the MDI or the gmoccapy gui.
    Mark

  16. #394
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    62

    Default

    Once the gearbox was undercontrol of LinuxCNC, the next task was troubleshooting the Y and Z feedback linear encoders. Y would work when you first switched on the machine, but then fade away, and loose steps. Seemed like flat batteries, and sure enough, the 5VDC PSU I added to power the MESA 7i77 and the encoders was set for 4.7V. Heidenhains spec for the LS-403 encoders is 5V +/-5%. Once I adjusted the supply up to 5.1VDC it has worked fine.

    I pulled the Z axis encoder, and cleaned it. While it was open I could confirm that the bulb worked. Switching around encoder cables I localised the problem to the third channel of the old EXE board which was recycled from the Phillips control. This channel was replaced by a 602D EXE from ebay.
    After that I could do the PID tuning on Z and get the machine up and running...

    MAHO MH4E LinuxCNC retrofit first cut - YouTube

    Mark

  17. Likes petar712 liked this post
  18. #395
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    62

    Default

    Yesterday I ran my first mill G-Code under LinuxCNC on the converted MAHO MH400E. Not the greatest success, but they were all my own mistakes.

    MAHO MH4E LinuxCNC retrofit, tool path error - YouTube

    The full story is here:
    Retrofitting a 1986 Maho MH4E - Page 58 - LinuxCNC

    I am waiting for my new X-Axis bellows way covers to arrive (they shipped on Monday), so I can reinstall the enclosure and use the coolant system.
    Mark

  19. #396
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    815
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    97

    Default

    Well Mark , I'll take my hat off for you. You must be the first person on the planet who did a successfull retrofit of a milling machine with this kind of gearbox.

  20. #397
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    62

    Default

    Thanks Kees, but it turns out this is not that uncommon in Germany. There are at least a few which have done it before, but they were much more skilled than me at both the hardware and software side, so they just did the job, and didn't leave much trace in the internet. Because I started with little clue what I was doing, and needed a lot of help, it made more noise.

    I have been assembling the gained knowledge into a "how to" document. It is not yet finished, but will be put out for all once I have solved the minor remaining issues.

  21. Likes BugRobotics liked this post
  22. #398
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vienna Austria
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    62

    Default

    I wanted to get my head around spiral tool paths, so I hand wrote this file. Note, my MAHO MH400E was not capable of 3D interpolation when I got it, so this is an improvement which would have otherwise cost a bunch for an upgraded Phillips 432.


    There is at least one other guy who has converted an E series MAHO with the same gearbox.comp, and two more in the pipeline.
    Mark

  23. Likes BugRobotics liked this post

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •