What's new
What's new

Apprenticeship dielectric question

ChrisC_84

Plastic
I have another head scratcher apprenticeship question.
I am being asked to explain the application of dielectric fluids with regard to a range of different materials.
I understand the general purpose of the dielectric (for the spark to happen, to flush eroded material away and to cool), but I have no experience or knowledge of the various dielectrics with different materials. I only use DI water with carbide.
I'm not having much luck searching the internet either. The only thing I have found is that ferrous materials corrode during machining in DI water. I don't think this qualifies as "a range of different materials".
Please help, (again)

We know nothing of your specific question.

But in cases such as this, searches here , but another source is to the vendors who sell the product used in whatever your question is.

They should have a catalog of products with data sheets explaining their function.

That should give you a list of available products combined with their applications.

Others may be able to provide specifics based on their exeriences.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

"I am being asked to explain the application of dielectric fluids with regard to a range of different materials."

Chris, I've been engaged in EDM longer than I care to admit and I'm not sure I could explain this without a better-constructed sentence or additional information.

Do they want to know the differences between DI water and oil?
(Ex: Titanium cuts 20% faster than steel in water, but cuts slowly and with high-wear in oil)

Try to get more information so we can better help.

Bud Guitrau

I get the impression that they want me to explain why I might wish to cut a certain material in oil vs DI water, though I'm not sure why they think that someone starting out would know this. If they hadn't put in "with regard to a range of different materials" I could answer it in a flash.