What's new
What's new

Apprenticeship EDM knowledge

ChrisC_84

Plastic
Hi,
I wonder if someone can point me in the right direction please?
I'm an apprentice EDM operator and a part of my apprenticeship is that I need to answer some questions relating to EDM.
One of the questions is "Explain how the various types of materials will affect the feeds and voltage that can be used". I haven't got the faintest idea how different materials affect the process, I only know that they do. Is there anywhere I can go to read up about this?
Thanks

Chris,

I'd like to help you out…and its always a pleasure to help someone new coming into the trade!

Your question of “Explain how the various types of materials will affect the feeds and voltage that can be used” is somewhat difficult to explain, as I don’t fully understand the context and intended age of the EDM equipment the question is being asked about, but I will try my best.

General Response:
Different materials types (such as Aluminum, Tool Steels, and Tungsten Carbide) all require different EDM Generator values (On-Time, Off-Time, Amperage, Voltage) to machine with speed, precision, and most importantly process stability. The Electrode Size (Sinker EDM) and material thickness (Wire EDM) also impact the EDM Generator values, as these power levels must be reduced the smaller the machining area becomes. A materials metallurgical alloy make-up and subsequent electrical conductivity can also change the EDM discharge spark gap and machining efficiency.