What's new
What's new

Burn isn't straight between different section thickness

wishin4snow

Plastic
Hello. I am fairly new to EDM world. I had a class in school several years ago and now took over our shops Mitsubishi DWC-90 EDM after the previous operator retired. We only do a handful of jobs with our EDM so the previous operator was pretty much self taught. We have one job were the thickness of the material changes from 0.125" to approximately 0.045" thickness. The problem I am having is the slot width in the thick part is 0.026" and the width in the thin part is 0.034". Material is Copper

I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions about how to make the slot straighter. One idea was re-program the contour to cheat the path but I didn't think this was the best route.

Hello. I am fairly new to EDM world. I had a class in school several years ago and now took over our shops Mitsubishi DWC-90 EDM after the previous operator retired. We only do a handful of jobs with our EDM so the previous operator was pretty much self taught. We have one job were the thickness of the material changes from 0.125" to approximately 0.045" thickness. The problem I am having is the slot width in the thick part is 0.026" and the width in the thin part is 0.034". Material is Copper

I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions about how to make the slot straighter. One idea was re-program the contour to cheat the path but I didn't think this was the best route.

Hey just for some clarity, you have a slot in a part the runs thru .125 thick material that steps down to .045 thickness? And you are seeing a .008 difference in slot width once it gets to the .045 thickness? That's a petty drastic change in size. If I am visualizing this right, I would have to say it sounds like your conditions are a bit hot. How many passes are you taking? I tend to treat copper like aluminum.