What's new
What's new

Buy Wire EDM machine NEW vs. USED (pros and cons) Makino U3, U6 vs. SP64/43, U53/U86

cameraman

Diamond
Pretty much as the title says,

Pros and cons of buying new vs used Wired EDM machines,

New being 2020/2021 -ish

Old/used being 2011 to 2004-ish

and maybe even older 1998 to 2000 -ish.

Mainly focused on U3 and U6 for new.

But older (2006 -ish) SP64 and it's ilk seem promising also.

I'm a noob/neeb to Wire EDM so any NEW vs. USED advice for other brands and models would be also appreciated.

Reading a 2010 thread there seemed to be a sentiment that Wire EDM rates (one could reasonably charge) tend to be race to the bottom in some cases i.e. citing a $50 / hr or that shops that are heavy on the milling side have one Wire EDM machine just because ..? Not sure if that's still the case vs. shops that specialize in Wire EDM and other related processes.

As usual any and all advice from the wisdom of the forum always appreciated !

Gotcha's and things to watch for?

Pointers ?

Plan would be to use official Makino techs for installation (or closest to) - if we pushed the button on "Used".

TIA.

Then second thought -

"Compare and contrast" thing,

Folks used to maintenance issues and pitfalls of new vs. used mills or turning centers,

Do older / used Wire EDM machines have issues that are very different from issues related to more "conventional" CNC equipment ?

Both good and bad ?

I know I'm asking a lot so any and all comments or answers to various fragments piecemeal greatly appreciated - i.e. doesn't have to be comprehensive.

Cheers.

Hi cameraman:
The pitfalls of buying an older machine are well documented here as the subject has come up relatively often and lots of us, me included have put in our two cents' worth.
So I encourage you to go back through some of what has been written here in the past.