What's new
What's new

Does Wire EDM change the temper or properties of metal?

JAY131

Plastic
Hi I am fairly new to the wire EDM world.

I have a Sodick vz300

I have a customer asking me if wire EDM changes the temper/properties of the material. They also asked if it does change, how much into the part from the edge/cut area would it affect?

Any info would really help.

thank u.

There was a time when this was considered a problem, but that time is now long past.

A rough and skim will leave a HAZ of a few "tenths" and as near no recast layer.

A couple more skims will virtually eliminate them.

I'm not sure what your customer's application is but:

We regularly wire-edm punches, die blocks, forms, and other die components from tool steels that have been heat-treated to 55-65 Rockwell C with no problems in operation afterward.

We regularly cut metallurgical test specimens for several customers.

We also regularly cut the blade root profiles in gas and steam turbine disks. We are getting set to do several even now.

We've also done flight hardware for a couple of customers.

On early edm machines, both wire and sinker, the HAZ and recast layer would have prevented running these jobs but ...

The modern controls and power supplies available today now make edm the preferred method in many of these cases.

Jay,

fwiw: A good number of years ago, I cut quite a few titanium components for the mirror actuators on the James Webb Space Telescope. I had to cut a number of test articles which were run through a lab for SEM analysis, and everything passed with flying colors. The machine used was a 1995 Agie, so definitely not the latest/best in generators, but the right selection of wire and tech settings did the job well above the requirements.

PM

Hello jay131,