What's new
What's new

EDM water filter issue

Aerospace Amity

Plastic
Hello, i am new here. I am hoping someone can help with an issue i am trying to figure out.
I am a RCRA manager at a company that uses EDM machines for majority of the parts being made.
The issue in hand is that once water filters are being Pulled out and changed, the old filters seem to be getting hot and smoldering. We are having to dunk these water filters into water to cool them off because they get so hot after removal from the EDM machine.
The type of filters being used are Sodick SHF-25E .
Has any else ever had issues with their water filters becoming hot after removal?

Never. What material are you edming? Every wire EDM machine I have ever used has a radiator that keeps water temp withing 3 {maybe 5) degrees of ambient temperature. Is your water level correct?

Never. What material are you edming? Every wire EDM machine I have ever used has a radiator that keeps water temp withing 3 {maybe 5) degrees of ambient temperature. Is your water level correct?

Im unsure of water levels. I do not run these machines, i dispose of the waste generated. And one of the wastes are these water filters that come to us smoldering and hot to the touch.

Hello, i am new here. I am hoping someone can help with an issue i am trying to figure out.
I am a RCRA manager at a company that uses EDM machines for majority of the parts being made.
The issue in hand is that once water filters are being Pulled out and changed, the old filters seem to be getting hot and smoldering. We are having to dunk these water filters into water to cool them off because they get so hot after removal from the EDM machine.
The type of filters being used are Sodick SHF-25E .
Has any else ever had issues with their water filters becoming hot after removal?

I use the same filters on my Sodick and have never noticed them being hot or warm when replacing.