What's new
What's new

Which EDM wire cutting machine should I Buy.

ArturoMeltri

Plastic
Hello,

I want to buy a edm wire cutting machine, I have received several quotes from Sodick, Chmer and Accutex local distributors. I'm not an expert in EDM and I want to make the right choice.

Which machine should I choose from the following list:

Chmer GX640L with 600x400x300mm capacity.

Sodick VL600Q with 600x400x270mm capacity.

Accutex AL600SA with 600x400x300mm capacity.

In your opinion which machine is the best of the three options I have based on reliability, accuracy and cutting speed.

Thank you,
I really appreciate your comments.

First, I don't have any previous experience with these brands. I only have experience with Agie, Mitsubishi, Charmilles and Fanuc.

Sodick has been around the longest and probably has the better reputation of those three manufacturers.

What materials will be most common? What tolerances, surface finishes? Etc etc... Job shop work so whatever comes in, or do you have a product line? Plans for type of wire and (max) tapers you plan on cutting? Need some more info.

I normally work on hardened steels as D2 58-60 HRC, I need around 0.0003-0.0004 inches of tolerance and I need a good surface finish. I normally work on whatever comes in, but I'm specialized in die manufacturing. I'm expert in CNC machining so I don't know many details about EDM wire cutting machines. I'm quoting some punches that need to be cut in 10° slope.

I'm thinking about buying 0.010" and 0.004" tapers. For most of the works that I need to cut they ask for 0.010" wire.

Sorry for my english!!!

It really depends on your budget. I wouldn't go with the accutex. I've worked on Chmers a LOT, and have some Sodick experience. I would go with the Sodick if you don't have much experience, as the technology will be much better developed. I would also look into Fanuc machines. They are in the same price range as the Sodick, but I like the control better, personally.