What's new
What's new

Getting into wire EDM, machine suggestions?

Radar987

Hot Rolled
As the title says, I'm new to wire EDM and looking to buy. Coming from 2 decades of experience in 4 and 5 axis milling and turning. Most parts will fit in your palm and will be under 1/8" thick.

Looking at the Makino U3 and U32j. What are the real world, practical differences? U32j claims to be more accurate, but how accurate are we talking here? My experience with "super precision" mills and lathes with glass scales is that they make a bigger difference over large distances, but no difference over individual features and small parts. The only parts where I need to split tenths will be under 1" x 1".

I like that the U32j can use very thin wire for essentially square inside corner features. Any issues running 0.002" wire in thin parts? How thin can I go on a U3?

Surface finish capability on the the U3 vs U32j? I'm okay taking 5-6 passes in either case. Cycle time is not an issue and parts are small anyway.

What's the life expectancy of a WEDM? No cutting forces - is there even any noticeable wear and tear other than consumables like wire guides? What's the long term cost to operate?

Also, thoughts on installing one of these in a clean, office-type environment on a polished concrete floor? I'd like to convert some of our unused office space into a micro machining area, which will include the EDM.

Radar987,

I am the EDM Product Manager at Makino, and the (x2) machines you have identified are both capable of producing the work you have outlined. I believe you will have difficulty in telling the two models apart from an accuracy standpoint, especially since your parts are very small. Both machines utilize a similar structure and design, but the U32j machine is the higher-level model. Below are a few differences between the U3 and U32j machines...

U3:
- Standard with 0.010" wire (0.004", 0.006", 0.008, and 0.012" Guides are optional)