What's new
What's new

Getting a new Sodick wire edm

JZ.

Aluminum
Hey guys,
I'm getting a new Sodick ALN600G this week and besides from what I can read about them online, I'm curious about some of the newer features they have. I've been running an AQ537L since 2010, what's new to me is the Smart Pulse Generator and the Taper Flex package up to 22°.

Those of you who have a Sodick with these features, has the Smart Pulse benefited you with your wire work? I typically do 1 rough and 3 skims so I am anxious to see how this affects my normal process.

And the Taper Flex, does this require any extra attention as far as programming? Going past 10° will be new to me as far as 4 axis cutting.

I get 3 days of training which is good, but I wanted to check with the real world to get some more info and see what ppl have experienced.

Thanks

No experience with the newer machines, but we machine 4 axis almost daily, ranging from 5-15deg without issues....

Is the Taper flex a more robust process?

No experience with the newer machines, but we machine 4 axis almost daily, ranging from 5-15deg without issues....

I'm guessing it has more control/sensitivity on the bigger angles, I don't really know yet.

Congratulations on your new machine! I'm sure you'll love it! We just got a new VL600Q and it's a great machine, a big step up from my old AP500 Sodick. How's the support in Pa? Support here is excellent!

We have one of these machines. Its a great machine. We have 2 other older Sodicks, AG600L and a AQ750L. We do alot of tall parts so they both have the 60 amp high speed generator. The ALN roughs just as fast and skims faster. Its gives a better finish with 2 skims than the other machines do with 4 skims.

Taper flex gives extremely accurate taper and 4 axis burns. We cut up to 35 degrees so we have the high taper Ruby guides as well.