What's new
What's new

Help with mystery EDM machine

finbar800

Plastic
Hi all,

I'm an undergraduate research assistant in an electrical engineering lab at the University of Virginia. We have an old EDM machine that no one knows how to use, but it would be super helpful if we got it up and running. I've searched everywhere for information on the machine, and the company that made it, but I've been unable to locate anything.

Allegedly, it's made my US EDM/Unitek and the model number is D55. It seems like this company went out of business a long time ago, and I couldn't figure out if they were acquired by another company that I could contact.

The user manual would be super helpful, but Google searches haven't turned up anything. I know little about EDM machines, so I'm not sure where to start in getting it going. The power turns on, and if I flip certain switches, liquid starts leaking from the pump (so that's not good).

Here is an Imgur album of the machine: Mystery EDM - Album on Imgur

Any guidance would be helpful! Any other forums I should send this to?

Thanks a bunch!

OK so it's a wire EDM rather than a sinker.

You need a few setting conditions - it looks to be manual rather than CNC but perhaps you can say differently.

A/ Wire Speed
B/ Discharge current
C/ Travel Speed
D/ De-Ionised water flow

If you can't find ANY documentation (unusual for a Uni) then I'd start by mounting up a bit of 1/8" or so mild steel, fiddle to get the water flowing with the nozzles close to the work,get the wire moving relatively fast, turn on the discharge generator and set it moving - play with the settings - too aggressive and you'll break the wire.

As you experiment you should be able to develop a feel for what is right, after all you are in a University, think of it as a bit of research :)

OK from that link it's a sinker NOT a wire - next time include the full picture !!!!

Much easier to get going :)